Home NEWS WATCHES Gianluigi Buffon wins the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award

Gianluigi Buffon wins the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award


The Golden Foot Hublot Award, the fan’s highest distinction

Followers have given their award to the most effective goalkeeper on the earth

The Golden Foot Hublot Award is a prize that’s given by the followers that fill the stands and are the lifetime of soccer. They’re the zeal and the eagerness behind the sport, they drive gamers on the pitch to offer their greatest. The loyal girls, males and youngsters who dream and who give unwavering help recreation after recreation. In a approach, soccer can be their life. By giving them a voice, this prize can be an award for the general public as with out them, there could be no soccer. By sponsoring this award, Hublot intends to construct this occasion and to make it the followers’ highest type of acknowledgement for gamers“.
Ricardo Guadalupe, CEO Hublot

Brazil and Italy are footballing nations by way of to their very core and have the very best variety of gamers to have acquired the Golden Foot Hublot Award. The 2016 version doesn’t break from this pattern. For its 14th outing, the Golden Foot Hublot Award recognises the profession of Gianluigi Buffon, which is now sealed in bronze. A homage paid by the general public to a participant chosen by the followers to obtain a prize that crowns the most effective keeper in historical past—who can be one of many gamers who has proven probably the most loyalty to his membership. The Italian Buffon follows on from Eto’o, the winner in 2015.

At the moment I’m honored, proud and emotional to obtain this nice distinction, the Golden Foot Hublot Award, that I hope I’ve gained on benefit. What I’m leaving right here at this time, are usually not the handprints of my ten fingers, however a hint of what I’m, of what I’ve finished, and of what I nonetheless must do.
Gianluigi Buffon, winner of the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award
The perfect footballers on the earth met in Monaco on the invitation of His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco, for the presentation of the Golden Foot Hublot Award. A world prize that stands out for 2 causes—it exhibits the general public and the followers’ favorite participant and it will probably solely be gained as soon as. The Golden Foot Hublot Award was created by the well-known agent Antonio Caliendo in 2003 and will be offered to lively skilled gamers and the legends of the sport. A jury of worldwide journalists selects 30 gamers who’re over 28 years outdated and the general public votes first to resolve on 10 nominees. A second public spherical of voting then chooses the winner whose title is revealed on the Golden Foot Hublot Ceremony. A golden trophy is offered to the winner who leaves their footprint in a bronze mould. Maradona and his footprints are the primary on the Promenade des Champions on the seafront within the Principality of Monaco. The naked footprints of the 70 biggest names in soccer are moulded into the bottom. From Ronaldo to Pelé, these gifted athletes have left a everlasting hint of their footwork in bronze.

The 9 nominees alongside Buffon for the 2016 version had been: Rooney, Ronaldo, Cavani, Casillas, Messi, Kaka, Thiago Silva, Pirlo and Lampard and celebrated from amongst the legends of soccer had been Antonio Caliendo (the president and founding father of the award), Deco, Carles Puyol, Frank de Boer and Claudio Ranieri. The winner of this 14th version has developed his abilities with Juventus, Gianluigi Buffon was already elected greatest goalkeeper of the 21st Century by the IFFHS, greatest goalkeeper within the 2006 FIFA World Cup, greatest footballer on the earth by UEFA in 2003 and is likely one of the most loyal gamers in historical past. Over 20 years in the past, Buffon was signed by Parma in Serie A on the age of 17, earlier than becoming a member of Juventus in 2001, with whom he nonetheless performs to this present day. His contract has been prolonged till 2018 so he’ll have a good time his 40th birthday with the Squadra and his 17 years with the membership!

Almost a million followers voted to call their favorite participant and Buffon gained 72% of the votes. The votes say quite a bit in regards to the face of soccer at this time, with 56% of the votes solid by girls and 44% by males, with a mean age of 31.5 years. As for the place the votes had been solid, most votes got here from Turkey, the USA, China, Italy and Mexico. Followers are the face of soccer. Receiving an award from the general public is the very best prize that every one gamers aspire in direction of.

January 2017: Declaration of the 30 candidates chosen and the primary public vote
February 2017: In a Hublot Golden Foot Award video, Gianluigi Buffon will announce the 10 nominees for 2017 within the brief checklist for the
second spherical of voting.

2003 Roberto Baggio, Italy
2004 Pavel Nedved, Czech Republic
2005 Andry Shevchenko, Ukraine
2006 Ronaldo, Brazil
2007 Alessandro Del Piero, Italy
2008 Roberto Carlos, Brazil
2009 Ronaldinho, Brazil
2010 Francesco Totti, Italy
2011 Ryan Giggs, Wales
2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sweden
2013 Didier Drogba, Côte d’Ivoire
2014 Andres Iniesta, Spain
2015 Samuel Eto’o, Cameroon
2016 Gianluigi Buffon, Italy
2003 Maradona, Eusebio, Riviera, Fontaine
2004 di Stefano, Zoff, Platini
2005 Gento, Finest, Weah, Riva, Rivelino
2006 Ghiggia, Puskas, Facchetti, Kopa, Zico
2007 Müller, Stoitchkov, Kempes, Rossi, Romario
2008 Aldair, Belanov, Suarez, Zidane
2009 Rummenigge, Santos, Blokhine, Higuita, Boniek
2010 Dunga, Varallo, Beckenbauer, Antognoni
2011 Pelé, Zanetti, Figo, Madjer, Gullit
2012 Cantona, Baresi, Matthaus, Pelé
2013 Valderrama, Ardiles, Papin
2014 Panenka, Pfaff, Sukur, Nakata, Hamm, Milla
2015 Hagi, Passarella, Dasaev, Trezeguet
2016 Deco, Carles Puyol, Frank de Boer, Claudio Ranieri, Didier Deschamps
Reference 413.NM.1127.RX – Titanium Ceramic
413.OM.1128.RX – King Gold Ceramic
Case Satin-finish and polished Titanium (Titanium Ceramic) or Satin-finish and polished King
Gold 18Ok (King Gold Ceramic)
Case-back Satin-finish Titanium (Titanium Ceramic) or Satin-finish King Gold 18Ok (King Gold
Ceramic) with sapphire glass
Glass Sapphire glass with anti-reflective therapy
Water resistance 100m or 10 ATM
Bezel Satin-finish and polished black ceramic
Dial Satin-finish matt black
Motion HUB1261 UNICO, Manufacture Mechanical Motion with computerized winding, biretrograde
chronograph with column wheel seen on the dial facet
Variety of elements 385 (44 rubies)
Energy Reserve 72 Hours
Strap Black rubber, interchangeable system
Titanium folding buckle (Titanium Ceramic)
Black-treated titanium folding buckle (King Gold Ceramic)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.