Home NEWS WATCHES Gianluigi Buffon wins the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award

Gianluigi Buffon wins the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award


The Golden Foot Hublot Award, the fan’s highest distinction

Fans have given their award to the best goalkeeper in the world

The Golden Foot Hublot Award is a prize that is given by the fans that fill the stands and are the life of football. They are the fervour and the passion behind the game, they drive players on the pitch to give their best. The loyal women, men and children who dream and who give unwavering support game after game. In a way, football is also their life. By giving them a voice, this prize is also an award for the public as without them, there would be no football. By sponsoring this award, Hublot intends to build this event and to make it the fans’ highest form of acknowledgement for players“.
Ricardo Guadalupe, CEO Hublot

Brazil and Italy are footballing nations through to their very core and have the highest number of players to have received the Golden Foot Hublot Award. The 2016 edition does not break from this trend. For its 14th outing, the Golden Foot Hublot Award recognises the career of Gianluigi Buffon, which is now sealed in bronze. A homage paid by the public to a player chosen by the fans to receive a prize that crowns the best keeper in history—who is also one of the players who has shown the most loyalty to his club. The Italian Buffon follows on from Eto’o, the winner in 2015.

Today I am honored, proud and emotional to receive this great distinction, the Golden Foot Hublot Award, that I hope I have won on merit. What I am leaving here today, are not the handprints of my ten fingers, but a trace of what I am, of what I have done, and of what I still need to do.
Gianluigi Buffon, winner of the 2016 Golden Foot Hublot Award
The best footballers in the world met in Monaco at the invitation of His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco, for the presentation of the Golden Foot Hublot Award. An international prize that stands out for two reasons—it shows the public and the fans’ favourite player and it can only be won once. The Golden Foot Hublot Award was created by the famous agent Antonio Caliendo in 2003 and can be presented to active experienced players and the legends of the game. A jury of international journalists selects 30 players who are over 28 years old and the public votes first to decide on 10 nominees. A second public round of voting then chooses the winner whose name is revealed at the Golden Foot Hublot Ceremony. A golden trophy is presented to the winner who leaves their footprint in a bronze mould. Maradona and his footprints are the first on the Promenade des Champions on the seafront in the Principality of Monaco. The bare footprints of the 70 greatest names in football are moulded into the ground. From Ronaldo to Pelé, these talented athletes have left a permanent trace of their footwork in bronze.

The nine nominees alongside Buffon for the 2016 edition were: Rooney, Ronaldo, Cavani, Casillas, Messi, Kaka, Thiago Silva, Pirlo and Lampard and celebrated from amongst the legends of football were Antonio Caliendo (the president and founder of the award), Deco, Carles Puyol, Frank de Boer and Claudio Ranieri. The winner of this 14th edition has developed his talents with Juventus, Gianluigi Buffon was already elected best goalkeeper of the 21st Century by the IFFHS, best goalkeeper in the 2006 FIFA World Cup, best footballer in the world by UEFA in 2003 and is one of the most loyal players in history. Over 20 years ago, Buffon was signed by Parma in Serie A at the age of 17, before joining Juventus in 2001, with whom he still plays to this day. His contract has been extended until 2018 so he will celebrate his 40th birthday with the Squadra and his 17 years with the club!

Nearly one million fans voted to name their favourite player and Buffon won 72% of the votes. The votes say a lot about the face of football today, with 56% of the votes cast by women and 44% by men, with an average age of 31.5 years. As for where the votes were cast, most votes came from Turkey, the USA, China, Italy and Mexico. Fans are the face of football. Receiving an award from the public is the highest prize that all players aspire towards.

January 2017: Declaration of the 30 candidates selected and the first public vote
February 2017: In a Hublot Golden Foot Award video, Gianluigi Buffon will announce the 10 nominees for 2017 in the short list for the
second round of voting.

2003 Roberto Baggio, Italy
2004 Pavel Nedved, Czech Republic
2005 Andry Shevchenko, Ukraine
2006 Ronaldo, Brazil
2007 Alessandro Del Piero, Italy
2008 Roberto Carlos, Brazil
2009 Ronaldinho, Brazil
2010 Francesco Totti, Italy
2011 Ryan Giggs, Wales
2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sweden
2013 Didier Drogba, Côte d’Ivoire
2014 Andres Iniesta, Spain
2015 Samuel Eto’o, Cameroon
2016 Gianluigi Buffon, Italy
2003 Maradona, Eusebio, Riviera, Fontaine
2004 di Stefano, Zoff, Platini
2005 Gento, Best, Weah, Riva, Rivelino
2006 Ghiggia, Puskas, Facchetti, Kopa, Zico
2007 Müller, Stoitchkov, Kempes, Rossi, Romario
2008 Aldair, Belanov, Suarez, Zidane
2009 Rummenigge, Santos, Blokhine, Higuita, Boniek
2010 Dunga, Varallo, Beckenbauer, Antognoni
2011 Pelé, Zanetti, Figo, Madjer, Gullit
2012 Cantona, Baresi, Matthaus, Pelé
2013 Valderrama, Ardiles, Papin
2014 Panenka, Pfaff, Sukur, Nakata, Hamm, Milla
2015 Hagi, Passarella, Dasaev, Trezeguet
2016 Deco, Carles Puyol, Frank de Boer, Claudio Ranieri, Didier Deschamps
Reference 413.NM.1127.RX – Titanium Ceramic
413.OM.1128.RX – King Gold Ceramic
Case Satin-finish and polished Titanium (Titanium Ceramic) or Satin-finish and polished King
Gold 18K (King Gold Ceramic)
Case-back Satin-finish Titanium (Titanium Ceramic) or Satin-finish King Gold 18K (King Gold
Ceramic) with sapphire glass
Glass Sapphire glass with anti-reflective treatment
Water resistance 100m or 10 ATM
Bezel Satin-finish and polished black ceramic
Dial Satin-finish matt black
Movement HUB1261 UNICO, Manufacture Mechanical Movement with automatic winding, biretrograde
chronograph with column wheel visible on the dial side
Number of components 385 (44 rubies)
Power Reserve 72 Hours
Strap Black rubber, interchangeable system
Titanium folding buckle (Titanium Ceramic)
Black-treated titanium folding buckle (King Gold Ceramic)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.